Page 19 - SHY2012

Basic HTML Version

[ ]
cation, Examination and Qualification of
Welding Personnel
The existing Guidelines define the course
syllabus, indicating for each subject the ob-
jectives, scope and expected results, and
the minimum teaching duration in hours as-
signed to them. Access to the harmonised
courses is allowed only to those individuals
who possess an appropriate agreed level of
general technical education, equivalent but
different for each country as these are based
on national education systems.
Figure 3 represents the structure of the in-
ternational professional Qualification System
of Welding Personnel managed by the IAB –
International Authorisation Board, the body
created by IIW with this purpose. The rela-
tionship with EWF, and the latter’s remain-
ing scope of activities is also shown. It can
be seen that an extensive range of welding
and welding related courses and qualifica-
tions available. These courses are valuable
to manufacturers seeking to ensure that all
their staf f with welding tasks and respon-
sibilities are properly trained and meet the
requirements of ISO 14731.
Figures 4 below gives an over view of the
structure of the International System for
training and qualification of welding person-
nel which includes courses for engineers,
technologists, specialists, practitioners,
welders and inspection personnel. These
courses can form a basis for lifelong train-
ing and professional promotion for personnel
working in welding technology.
The EWF/IIW Personnel Certification Scheme
provides a simple means by which job capa-
bility can be assessed and recognised. It
defines the profile of education, knowledge,
experience and responsibility required for a
range of conventional welding tasks, and pro-
vides a professional assessment procedure,
see Figure 5 below.
Because Cer tification is concerned with
current competence rather than historical
attainment, periodic renewal is required.
The scheme provides a convincing way of
suppor ting companies seeking to achieve
compliance with EN ISO 14731.
Four levels of cer tification are available,
based on the four EWF/IIW Diplomas: Euro-
pean/International Welding Engineer, Tech-
nologist, Specialist and Practitioner. The first
three of these qualifications are deemed to
satisfy the technical knowledge requirements
of EN ISO 14731.
The ATBs (Authorised Training Bodies) are ap-
proved by the national ANBs to implement the
IIW training courses aimed at awarding the
IIW Qualification Diplomas. This recognition
is based on audits conducted by the national
ANB, through which it is assured that the ATB
has the capabilities to fulfil the requirements
defined under the IIW rules, procedures and
The harmonised courses are now of fered
around the world through IIW/IAB. There are
more than 600 Authorised Training Bodies
approved and supervised by the ANBs for
implementing the IIW Qualification courses,
which combine both underpinning knowledge
and application experience, thereby provid-
ing close links with industrial practice. After
the main education, special courses for ad-
ditional learning are offered in many special
areas, thus providing a specific education
still closer to the job function.
As can be seen from Figures 6 and 7 below,
many tens of thousands of Diplomas have
been awarded since the systems were in-
troduced; firstly in EWF and subsequently
2.2 The Manufacturer Certification System
The EWF Companies’ Cer tification System
for quality requirements not only provides a
way to companies to be cer tified in compli-
ance with EN ISO 3834, but also leads to
the publication of the companies’ data on
the EWF Database of Cer tified Companies.
This database is only open to companies
that were cer tified under the EWF Cer tifica-
tion System. The database can be seen in
under “Cer tified Companies”
and it is possible to make a search either
by countr y or by process (using the proc-
ess standard identification code according
to EN ISO 4063) or by base material (us-
ing the materials codification based on the
CEN ISO TR 15608). As indicated above this
system has now been transferred to IIW and
the new IIW Cer tification System for Compa-
nies according to ISO 3834 is star ting being
implemented in 2008 worldwide.
Due to the developments and needs from the
manufacturers regarding the compliance with
Figure 6. EWF Qualification System Diplomas evolution since 1992.
Figure 7. IIW Qualification System Diplomas evolution since 1998.